Reviews of The Girl Who Was on Fire

By February 25th, 2011 3 Comments

If you hunger for the Hunger Games trilogy, fear not. Smart Pop Books also had the yearning for more of Suzanne Collins’ creative and dangerous world after Mockingjay and created a new anthology to delve deeper into the Hunger Games.

The Girl Who Was on Fire–edited by Leah Wilson, our own pop culture connoisseur–includes essays by an all-star YA cast: Sarah Rees Brennan, Jennifer Lynn Barnes, Mary Borsellino, Elizabeth M. Rees, Lili Wilkinson, Ned Vizzini, Carrie Ryan, Cara Lockwood, Terri Clark, Blythe Woolston, Sarah Darer Littman, Adrienne Kress, and Bree Despain.

Is that not enough? Alright, listen to your fellow Hunger Games fans and book bloggers share their thoughts on The Girl Who Was on Fire:

The Hunger Games Trilogy Fansite: A close look at the media and how truth and propaganda can mutually exist, the (destructive) patterns of decadence and overindulgence in society, and why we should pay less attention to Katniss’ love triangle and more to Katniss herself.

Bookish Blather: [These essays] serve as an excellent introduction and as examples of just how many different ways one book (or set of books) can be analyzed … I consider it a must-read for any fan of The Hunger Games.

Forever Young Adult: A fascinating collection of essays about the Hunger Games series. Written by some of today’s Best-Selling YA Authors ™, this book tackles all aspects of the Hunger Games … This book is LEGIT. And it’s jam-packed with essays on topics that are near and dear to my heart, like ethics in science, PTSD, feminism, and politics. All of the essays are thought-provoking and they really get into the heart and soul of the series. In fact, I’ll even bet you that you’ll come away from this book liking the series more than you did already.

Bloody Bookaholic: I love books like this; when authors come together and talk about one of my favorite series … they always manage to point out things you might have never thought before, and if you have thought about it, it will either confirm your idea or give you another perspective. It’s pretty awesome!!

The Hob: The Girl Who Was on Fire is a great accompaniment to the series … As I read I often found myself returning to my well worn copies of Collins’ trilogy to reread various excerpts, reflecting on my analysis of the story, and changing my views on some of its more interesting aspects. The Hunger Games is so beloved because it tells a beautiful story and presents readers with endless topics for discussion, and The Girl Who Was on Fire continues that trend. As it uncovers even more wonderful facets of the story, there’s no doubt that both the casual reader and diehard fans will enjoy this companion book.

The Daily Pretzel: The Girl Who Was on Fire is the latest in line, not only to educate me, but to thrill fans of Suzanne Collins’ New York Times bestselling Hunger Games trilogy.

A Book Lover’s Diary: Each author handled the subject matter very well–their love of the series comes through with their thought-provoking realizations and theories. I’m so glad that I had a chance to read this compilation about Suzanne Collin’s trilogy because The Hunger Games is the kind of series that provokes discussion and The Girl Who Was On Fire not only allowed me to jump right back into the world that Suzanne Collins created, but gave me a new appreciation for the series.

Presenting Lenore: If you are a Hunger Games fan, you need this book in your collection.

Confessions of a Bookaholic: Several sections of this book that stood out as favorites. Each author brought humor and fascinating theories to support their outlook … As readers, we often focus on different things we notice in the book but The Girl Who Was On Fire lets us have time to slow down and concentrate on each individual issue … If you enjoyed The Hunger Games series, and would like to see how authors feel about the story, you gotta read this book.

Book Nerds Across America: I thoroughly enjoyed every single essay. They were all very different, and each one led me to at least one, if not several, new ways of thinking about the trilogy … My copy is completely highlighted, underlined, written in the margins, and dog-eared. You don’t know how many times while I was reading it I said emphatically to myself, “Yes!!” as I underlined or highlighted a quote or passage.

Books and Movies: You know the saying, “Out of sight, out of mind?” Well, sometimes I think it applies to books I love. When I go back and revisit an old favorite, it’s like falling in love all over again. And reading this collection of essays, alongside reading the first book in the trilogy aloud to my sons, has me head over heels with The Hunger Games all over again … If you are a lover of The Hunger Games then you will love this book–even if reading literary essays is not something you would normally do for pleasure. Trust me–you’ll like these.

Endless Reading: These essays help you to delve further into the world of Panem and investigate the parallels between Katniss’s world and our own. Overall, I felt like sitting down with this book was much like sitting down with an incredibly intelligent, well spoken book club.

Novel Novice: In so many ways, the essays in The Girl Who Was On Fire offer both an academic and a contemporary approach to The Hunger Games – all without feeling clinical or dry. These authors explore a series that readers ADORE; books and characters that people are fiercely attached to – and discuss them in a way that is both thought-provoking and engaging. This book is the perfect opportunity for fans of The Hunger Games to live in this world a little longer, explore themes they’ve already considered more in-depth, and take a second look at a series they already love.

A Blog About Nothing: I loved reading this book and was surprisingly captivated and sucked in from the very first essay, I found it hard to put down and all along it kept me wanting to go back and dive into the amazing series that is The Hunger Games.

Everyday Reading: Reading this book is like going to an English class where your professor suddenly starts pointing out all the symbolism and themes and you think, “wow, I didn’t even like this book and now I want to reread it.” Imagine that happening with a book you actually loved. You could talk for ages about this.

Examiner.com: The Girl Who Was On Fire … takes the book off of the fiction shelves and shines it under a light of present-day reality.

Word for Teens: A must read for any Hunger Games lover, or anybody who just loves looking closely at the intricacies of YA lit.

5MinutesforBooks.com: For fans of The Hunger Games series, The Girl Who Was on Fire serves as the perfect reading companion, one that emphasizes the strengths of the novels and pushes the reader to dig even deeper into the material, to continue to ask questions, draw comparisons, and apply the lessons to one’s own life.

Cinderella in Rubber Shoes: I’ve read so many books after finishing the [Hunger Games] trilogy, but no other dystopian-themed book is able to dislodge it from its special position in my bookworm heart. So when–by sweet serendipity–I stumbled upon a copy of The Girl Who Was on Fire, I had to clamp down the excited giggle that bubbled up my throat. Three words after I finished it: a phenomenal read.

Smash Attack Reads!: Some of the essays brought tears to my eyes as I remember the intense emotion I felt while reading the The Hunger Games. These essays really are a deep inspection of a series that challenged us all. They will make you appreciate the series even more and help sate your sorrow now that it is over. This was my first taste of Smart Pop books, and I will definitely be back for more.

I’d Rather Be Reading: I loved getting back into the world of Panem. I loved hearing about other people’s love for the story and for Katniss. I loved understanding how Collins’ post-apocalyptic world is far more similar to our own than is comfortable. I loved sharing in the joy of talking books with other people, even if this was definitely one-sided.

A Story Untold: Overall, I liked The Girl Who Was On Fire and felt like I was discussing the Hunger Games with friends all over again. The moving and thought-provoking essays are a definite must-read for every Hunger Games fan!

Charlotte Mecklenburg Library: From romance to family, from fashion to science, this anthology will offer fans new ways to explore all three books of the series again and again. A must read for fans written by fans of the Hunger Games series.

Amy L. Campbell: All of the essays are great jumping points to further discussion about the novels.

The Girl Who Was on Fire (click to read essay excerpts now!) will be available in bookstores in April 2011.

Other mentions of The Girl Who Was on Fire at:

aisleb.tumblr.com
libraryland.tumblr.com

mockingjay.net
thehungergamesblog-ijannet.blogspot.com
www.downwiththecapitol.net
www.greenbeanteenqueen.com
www.hungergamestrilogy.com
www.publishersweekly.com
www.pureimaginationblog.com
www.shelfari.com
www.yabliss.com
www.hungergamestrilogy.net
www.myhungergames.com

 

 

In ,

Leave a Comment

Required

3 Comments On "Reviews of The Girl Who Was on Fire"

  1. Chuck

    I’m sure I’ll be the only one who says this; but I loved “Foxface.” I kinda wish we could have found out her backstory.

    Reply

    • Logan Hunter

      Hopefully we’ll find out more about her in The World Of The Hunger Games!!!

      Reply

  2. Logan Hunter

    Ever since I opened the first page of THG I have been an Ultimate Tribute! When I was on holiday I was looking at a new book and I saw THG books, and I was like… Gee, if only they brought out new books… Then I saw this. Itnwasn’t what I was looking for but I’ll tell you I was extremely Excited… And I was not in the slightest bit disappointed! I’d say if you want a true knowledge of THG then this is the book for you… Get reading! It is amazing and the Authors are so intelligent!
    -May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favor. Logan Hunter.
    (Follow me on Twitter… @lalogaly) and my HG account for fans before books look at bio… @THGrealfans

    Reply

Stay Updated

on our daily essay, giveaways, and other special deals

Our Books

Subscribe via RSS