Kristine Kathryn Rusch

Kristine Kathryn Rusch is an award-winning mystery, romance, science fiction, and fantasy writer. She has written many novels under various names, including Kristine Grayson for romance, and Kris Nelscott for mystery. Her novels have made the bestseller lists–even in London–and have been published in 14 countries and 13 different languages.

Her awards range from the Ellery Queen Readers Choice Award to the John W. Campbell Award. In the past year, she has been nominated for the Hugo, the Shamus, and the Anthony Award. She is the only person in the history of the science fiction field to have won a Hugo award for editing and a Hugo award for fiction. Her short work has been reprinted in thirteen Year’s Best collections.

Her novel, Diving into the Wreck, was published by Pyr in November. The sixth in her Retrieval Artist series, Duplicate Effort, appeared in February. Her next short story collection, Recovering Apollo 8 and Other Stories, will appear from Golden Gryphon in spring of 2010.

In 2009, her short story, “G-Men,” will appear in The Best American Mystery Stories and The Year’s Best Science Fiction, the first time the same story will appear in both a mystery and science fiction best of the year collection. In 2008, she won both the Ellery Queen Readers Choice Award and the Asimov’s Readers Choice Award.

In 2007, she became one of a handful of writers to twice win the Best Mystery Novel award given for the best mystery published in the Northwest (for her Kris Nelscott books). Her novella, “Diving into the Wreck,” has won the prestigious international UPC award, given in Spain to the best science fiction novella in English, French, Spanish or Catalan. That novella also won the Asimov’s Readers Choice award. Her critically acclaimed Retrieval Artist series has won the Endeavor Award and is currently nominated for the Romantic Times Book Review’s Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best Science Fiction novel.

In 2001, her story, “Millennium Babies,” won the coveted Hugo Award. That year, she also received the Herodotus Award for Best Historical Mystery Novel (for her Kris Nelscott Series) and the Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Award for Best Paranormal Romance (for her novel Utterly Charming, written as Kristine Grayson). In 1999, her story, “Echea” (available at Fictionwise), was nominated for the Locus, Nebula, Hugo, and Sturgeon awards. It won the Homer Award and the Asimov’s Reader’s Choice Award. In 1999, she also won the Ellery Queen Reader’s Choice Award and the Science Fiction Age Reader’s Choice Award, making her the first writer to win three different reader’s choice awards for three different stories in two different genres in the same year.

She is the former editor of prestigious The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. Before that, she and Dean Wesley Smith started and ran Pulphouse Publishing, a science fiction and mystery press in Eugene. She lives and works on the Oregon Coast.

Visit her online at

Stay Updated

on our daily essay, giveaways, and other special deals

Our Books

Subscribe via RSS